Korn Ferry Tour will award an unprecedented 30 TOUR cards in 2023


It was also announced on Tuesday that the Korn Ferry Tour Finals will no longer be a competition for TOUR cards between the top 75 finishers on the Korn Ferry Tour and numbers 126-200 on the FedExCup leaderboard. Finals will now refer to the final four events of the season, where members compete to increase prize money and point awards. The four final events will include $1.5 million in prize money and award 600 points to each winner. The previous 22 events on the schedule will have a minimum purse of $1 million – a 67% increase from 2021 to 2023 – and award 500 points to winners. The 2023 Korn Ferry Tour season is scheduled to run from January to October.

“The additional TOUR maps available and the reimagined Korn Ferry Tour Finals will properly reward more players for their success throughout the season,” Baldwin said. “Extending our season through October while maintaining a 26-event schedule will allow us to dial in the best possible tournament schedule with natural breaks, peak golf course conditions, as well as giving graduates time to prepare for their transition to the PGA TOUR.”

The focus on the Korn Ferry Tour season confirms that it is the best way to identify future PGA TOUR stars and prepare them for the highest level of golf. Korn Ferry Tour alumni represent 80% of current PGA TOUR members and have won more than 600 times on the TOUR, including 27 major tournaments.

When the Korn Ferry Tour debuted in 1990, it only awarded five PGA TOUR cards, with that number gradually increasing to 25. Since 2013, the Korn Ferry Tour has awarded 25 TOUR cards through the regular season and another 25 through the Korn Ferry Tour finals. . Players who have finished between numbers 26 and 30 on the Korn Ferry Tour regular season points list in recent years include defending FedExCup champion Patrick Cantlay and Olympic gold medalist Xander Schauffele, who won his sixth PGA TOUR title at last week’s Travelers Championship.

The #1 player on the 2023 Korn Ferry Tour points list will continue to receive a bye for the following season’s PLAYERS Championship, as well as the following season’s US Open Championship. Recent No. 1s on the Korn Ferry Tour points list include Scottie Scheffler and Sungjae Im, who have both been named Korn Ferry Tour Player of the Year and PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year in consecutive seasons. Scheffler is the best player in the world rankings and the FedExCup and the defending champion of the Masters. Im has two PGA TOUR wins and represented the international team in the previous Presidents Cup.


Comments are closed.